Nintendo sets a start date for Switch online service

Posted September 13, 2018

The company has taken to Twitter to announce that the service will go live next week, on September 18 in the United States and September 19 in Europe.

Nintendo previously revealed that their online service would be launching in the "second half of September" and would cost significantly cheaper than Xbox Live Gold and PlayStation Plus. I'm not actually excited for Switch Online at all so far, but I also don't play any video games online. So...

North America's Direct kicks off at 3 PM PT / 6 PM ET, while Europe's stream begins at 11 PM BST.

China's trade surplus with United States hit new record in August
He said Friday that tariffs on another $ 200 billion in Chinese goods are "in the hopper" and "could take place very soon". The move risks raising tensions between the world's two largest economies.

Switch Online is the Nintendo's unimaginatively-named subscription-based online service. These will include Super Mario Bros, Ice Climbers, and the original Legend of Zelda.

"Friends can even watch each other play single-player games online, and "pass the controller" at any time". Not all games will support this feature, but it's a relief to see Nintendo add a feature that should have been ready at launch. Individual membership is separated into three tiers: $3.99 for one month; $7.99 for three months and $19.99 for 12 months.

The company had planned a Nintendo Direct event for September 6th, but that has been rescheduled to September 13th (3PM PDT), where the company will share new information about upcoming Switch and 3DS titles. Nintendo will also offer a family bundle for $34.99 that allows up to eight people to use the same subscription.